DELOS Business Meeting Minutes 2010 ASEE Annual Conference (Louisville, KY) 12:30pm, Tuesday, June 22nd, 2010

Attendance: 12 members

Agenda:

- 1. Welcome & Introductions
- 2. Division Chair Remarks
- 3. PIC Report
- 4. Officer Reports
- 5. Best Paper Award Review Process/DELOS Best Paper Awards
- 6. Recognition of the Leadership
- 7. Officer Elections
- 8. New Business

Twelve members were present at the meeting.

1. Welcome & Introductions (Ahmed Rubaai)

Twelve members were present. After welcoming everyone, Ahmed Rubaai (Division Chair) asked that everyone present briefly introduce themselves.

2. Division Chair Remarks (Ahmed Rubaai)

Ahmed Rubaai noted that US Didactic has pledged a \$500 donation to the division again this year. He encouraged members to stop by the booth to introduce themselves and to thank the company for their continuing support. Ahmed also suggested that this information should be included in the newsletter/website.

3. PIC Report (Noel Schultz)

Noel Shultz, the PIC IV Chair, provided a brief report.

- Noel is completing her 2-year term as PIC IV Chair. The incoming chair is Bev Watford (from Virginia Tech). Bev is a former Chair of the Women in Engineering Division (WIED) and is very familiar with PIC IV.
- SmoothPaper is being retired this year. The replacement is called Monolith. Program Chair training is being provided at ASEE. There will also be webinars.
- Frank Hubband, current Executive Director of ASEE, is retiring after 20+ years. There is a committee being formed to hire a new director. The committee will have broad representation.
- Funding notes:
 - o DELOS now charges a membership fee of \$3. All of these funds are deposited into the BASS account (which rolls over from year to year).
 - Membership in DELOS has dropped (5 years ago = ~1280; 2010 = 666 members). ASEE has revised the way in which divisions are funded. Now, each division receives \$1/member deposited into their Operating account each year. These funds revert back to ASEE central after September 30th each year.
- A new Task Force on Plagiarism has been formed. It met for the first time on 6/22/10.
- A Diversity Committee is also meeting to review recommendations made in 2002 that were not followed through on, as well as to make new recommendations.
- Best practices (e.g., Best Paper Award review process) are being solicited from every division in an effort to improve all divisions. Noel will contact the Division Chair with a request for information.

Q&A for Noel Shultz:

- Q: How many papers were submitted and accepted this year to ASEE as a whole? A: Noel does not have that data. It depends on what you are interested in since there is different attrition at different stages of the process.
- There was a discussion about the importance of having page numbers in the proceedings. Many felt that without this information, ASEE papers were not valuable in the tenure review process and, therefore, junior faculty had a disincentive to submit to ASEE.
- Q: What does the \$75 proceedings fee cover? A: It is not clear what this fee is paying for, now that the proceedings are published on CD-ROM. Noel will raise this question again with ASEE Headquarters.

4. Officer Reports

a. Newsletter Editor (Patrick Tebbe)

Patrick Tebbe was unable to attend the meeting, but had communicated with Ahmed prior to the meeting. Ahmed said that Patrick regretted that he was going to be unable to continue as Newsletter Editor, due to unexpected administrative demands that had come up. Ahmed thanked Patrick for his service and asked that those present consider serving as Newsletter Editor.

b. Secretary/Treasurer (Chan Choi)

The Secretary/Treasurer was not present and had not communicated with any of the other officers prior to the meeting. There was no report.

c. Program Chair (Lisa Huettel)

Lisa thanked everyone for participating in the review process. The statistics for the 2010 DELOS program are:

- 45 abstracts were submitted, 40 abstracts were accepted
- 28 full papers were submitted, 18 papers were presented at the conference
- There were 4 technical sessions, plus one poster session (with 80 posters)
- There was also a panel session (co-sponsored by The Mathworks and MicroChip Technology, with lunch provided)

5. Best Paper Award Review Process/DELOS Best Paper Awards

- Five papers were nominated (by reviewers) for the Best Paper Award
- According to the bylaws, these papers are subsequently reviewed by a committee consisting
 of the executive board members. However, due to conflicts of interest, the constitution of the
 committee was modified slightly. The same review criteria/scoring mechanism was
 employed.
- All five papers received final nominations (and certificates), of which two were awarded plaques, certificates, and a \$150 check. (One award recipient declined the check.)

6. Recognition of the Leadership (Bijan Sepahpour)

Bijan presented a Swiss Army knife and pen to Larry Genalo in recognition of his service to the Division. He also presented pens to several members who indicated a willingness to become more involved in the Division (Greg Mason, Gerry Rectenwald, Kip Coonley, and Chiu Choi). Finally, Bijan presented a plaque to Lisa in recognition of her service to the division as 2010 Program Chair. Lisa thanked everyone who helped make the conference a success and extended a special thanks to Bijan, Neb Jaksic, and Ahmed for their mentoring and assistance.

7. Officer Elections (Ahmed Rubaai)

As specified in the DELOS bylaws, the Program Chair becomes the next Division Chair. A formal nomination was made and seconded. After a unanimous vote, Lisa Huettel was confirmed as the 2010-11 DELOS Division Chair.

Traditionally, the current Secretary/Treasurer is nominated to be the next Program Chair. However, since the current Secretary/Treasurer has not been active in his role and has not expressed interest in becoming Program Chair, the floor was opened up for nominations. Several individuals were asked to consider the position, but none were able to make a commitment. Thus, Ahmed Rubaai offered to serve as 2010-2011 Program Chair until a suitable replacement could be identified (which may or may not happen).

Gerry Recktenwald was nominated as 2009-10 Secretary/Treasurer. The nomination was seconded and passed unanimously.

Several individuals were nominated and elected Members-at-Large. They include: Greg Mason, Chiu Choi, Ismail Fidan, and Georgia Harris.

Greg Mason expressed interest in the Newsletter Editor position, but no election was held.

8. New Business

- a. Nebojsa Jaksic proposed an idea for a new Division journal. The journal would be published online, twice a year (one issue would be ASEE Best Paper nominees/winners, the second would be open to everyone). The motivation for such a journal is to provide an outlet for papers describing what we teach as opposed to existing venues (e.g., Journal of Engineering Education) which emphasize how we teach. It was suggested that journals published by other divisions (e.g., Computers in Education) be examined/studied to determine costs, etc. It was also noted that there was probably an approval process required by ASEE Headquarters. After a generally supportive discussion, it was decided that Neb should prepare a proposal to present to the Division which identifies the process, the commitments (funds and manhours) needed, and ultimately the details of the journal (e.g., frequency, way in which costs will be covered, etc.)
- b. Ahmed Rubaai proposed the formation of an Adhoc Committee for Long-Range Planning and Funding. Bijan suggested that the membership be comprised of past division chairs, members-at-large, and others. Georgia Harris was asked to chair the committee.

The meeting was adjourned at 2pm.

Respectfully submitted by Lisa Huettel, 2010 DELOS Program Chair