Revised June 1990
Revised June 2007


The name of the Division shall be the Division for Experimentation and Laboratory Oriented Studies (DELOS) of the American Society for Engineering Education. It shall serve the interests of its members as a division of PIC IV.


The objectives of this Division are to improve engineering education through development of ideas, concepts, policies, procedures and demonstrations related to laboratory studies and experimentation for the education of engineers; through dissemination of the results of these activities in publications and meetings; and through the professional development of educators for laboratory instruction.


The membership of the Division shall consist of the members of the Society who indicate on the Society's Annual Dues Notice or inform the Executive Director of the Society that they wish to affiliate with the Division.


Section 1. The officers of this Division shall consist of: a) Chairperson, b) Vice-Chair/Program Chair, c) Secretary-Treasurer, d) Newsletter Editor/Web Master, e) the three past Chairpersons of the Division, and f) the three (3) Directors. All of the Officers and the Directors shall be members of the Division.

Section 2. The Chairperson shall preside over the Executive Committee, which conducts all affairs of the Division.

Section 3. The chief duty of the Vice-Chairman is to serve as Program Chairman. In this capacity, the Vice-Chair/Program Chair shall preside over the Program Committee and be responsible for the coordination of activities related to the preparation of the program for the Annual ASEE Conference. The Vice-Chairman/Program Chair shall assume the duties of the Chairman when necessary.

Section 4. The Secretary-Treasurer shall prepare minutes of Division meetings and shall administer all monetary funds of the Division.

Section 5. The Newsletter Editor shall prepare, with the assistance of the membership, a Division newsletter which will be electronically available to all members.

Section 6. The three Directors shall serve as members of the Executive Committee and shall assist the Chairperson in the formulation and administration of Division policies.


Section 1. Nominations for the officers shall be made by members of the Division at the Annual Business Meeting. Only those individuals who have previously held office in the Division shall be eligible for nomination as Chairperson. Elections will be held at the Annual Business Meeting of the Division. Elected officers shall assume their responsibilities at the conclusion of the Annual Business Meeting of the Division following the election. Election will be by majority vote of those voting.

Section 2. The Chairperson shall fill by appointment any vacancies in other offices occurring between Annual Business Meetings of the Division. The terms of these appointments shall be for the period from the time of appointment to the next Annual Business Meeting of the Division. The Vice-Chairperson/Program Chair shall preside in the absence of the Chairperson.

Section 3. The Program Chair shall automatically become Chairperson for the Division the year immediately following his/her year of service as Program Chair.

Section 4. The Secretary/Treasurer/Program Chair-elect shall automatically become Program Chairperson for the Division the year immediately following his/her year of service as the Secretary/Treasurer/Program Chair-elect.

Section 5. The three Directors shall be elected for staggered two-year terms. Should any Officer or Director be unable to serve, the vacancy shall be filled by appointment by the Executive Committee until the time of the near election.


Section 1. The Division shall be directed by an Executive Committee composed of the following:
a. The Chairperson
b. The Vice-Chair/Program Chair
c. The Secretary-Treasurer
d. The Newsletter Editor
e. The three past Chairpersons of the Division
f. The three (3) Directors

Section 2. Four (4) members of this group will constitute a quorum.

Section 3. The Executive Committee shall formulate and administer all policies of the Division


The Division shall hold an annual meeting at the society's Annual conference. The Annual meeting shall be open to the public. Voting privileges, however, shall be extended only to members of the division. The business of the annual meeting shall include reports by the officers and chairman of Standing and ad Hoc Committees.
The Division may adopt its own rules of procedure, but in the absence of such rules, ROBERT'S RULES OF ORDER, latest edition, shall apply.


Section 1. The Chairperson, with the advice of the Executive Committee, may appoint committees as deemed necessary and shall designate the Chairperson(s) thereof.

Section 2. By November 1 following taking office, the Chairperson shall, with the advice and consent of the Executive Committee, nominate NEW Executive Members from among Division members who are not currently serving on the Executive Committee.

Section 3. The Chairperson shall appoint Associate Chairperson(s) to a Program Committee for one year terms. Such Associate Chair(s) shall coordinate the Program Committee whose objective shall be to plan, develop and arrange a sequence of programs to span two or more years.


These bylaws may be amended by a two-thirds vote of the Executive Members attending the annual meeting of the Division.


These bylaws shall become effective upon an affirmative two-thirds vote of the Executive Members of the Division. Amendments approved by the division membership shall be submitted through the PIC IV Chair for approval by majority vote of the ASEE Board of Directors and shall take effect only upon such approval.


Section 1. DELOS adopts a blind review process.

Section 2. DELOS is a Publish to Present Division. Acceptance of abstracts in the division does not ensure publication in the conference proceedings or presentation at the conference.

Section 3. A final, peer-reviewed paper, based on the abstract, must be approved before it can be included in the proceedings or presented at the conference.


The Division shall publish periodicals and other materials for advancing the objectives of DELOS and to encourage and recognize contributions to laboratory practice. The publications will be electronic newsletters placed on the Divisionís Website.


Section 1. All submitted papers that have been nominated by at least one of the reviewers will be candidates for nominations for DELOS Best Paper Award.

Section 2. A second set of BLIND reviews will be conducted to determine the top best three (3) nominated papers. Each of the FIRST authors of the three (3) best papers will receive a prestigious plaque and a cash award of $150.

Section 3. The authors of the top three papers will be informed of their nominations and alerted to the fact that DELOS will nominate one of the three papers for PIC IV Best Paper Award after their ORAL presentation at the conference. The Executive members of DELOS will be present at the oral presentations and will combine the scores on the written and the oral parts to make a final nomination for PIC IV Best Paper.

Section 4. All first authors of the remaining nominated papers will receive a Certificate of Recognition at the time of their presentation.


Section 1. The Executive Committee is authorized to establish dues for the Division membership. The dues of the Division shall be determined each year by the Division in session and shall be only for such incidental items as are not supplied by the National Society.

Section 2. The membership dues are $3 per year and are payable with Society dues.